IFC Films has announced a July 17th release date for Kyle Patrick Alvarez's The Stanford Prison Experiment, which the distributor acquired after the film was awarded the Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival.

Based on the real-life research of Dr. Philip Zimbardo on the psychology of imprisonment, the film boasts an impressive cast including Ezra Miller, Tye Sheridan, Michael Angarano, Olivia Thirlby, and Billy Crudup as Philip Zimbardo.

Early reviews have widely praised the film; in his A- review from The Playlist, Rodrigo Perez called the film "provacative...accomplished and thought-provoking", adding, "As the psychological torture crosses the line, one can feel the film coil its hands around the audience's neck ever so slowly. And through brilliantly simple composition, Alvarez masterfully manipulates the viewer into a complicit voyeur while putting them through grueling paces."