Kyle Patrick Alvarez's The Stanford Prison Experiment, starring Billy Crudup, Olivia Thirlby, Michael Angarano, and Ezra Miller, has been awarded the Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival. This prize is "selected by a jury of film and science professionals and presented to outstanding feature films focusing on science or technology as a theme, or depicting a scientist, engineer or mathematician as a major character.” This year's jury included Paula Apsell, Janna Levin, Brit Marling, Jonathan Nolan, and Adam Steltzner.

Sundance describes the film as follows:

It is the summer of 1971. Dr. Philip Zimbardo launches a study on the psychology of imprisonment. Twenty-four male undergraduates are randomly assigned to be either a guard or a prisoner. Set in a simulated jail, the project unfolds. The participants rapidly embody their roles—the guards become power-hungry and sadistic, while the prisoners, subject to degradation, strategize as underdogs. It soon becomes clear that, as Zimbardo and team monitor the escalation of action through surveillance cameras, they are not fully aware of how they, too, have become part of the experiment.

The Stanford Prison Experiment is currently seeking US distribution.